Northwest Renewable News

Your Daily Source for Renewable Energy News in Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana & Northern California

Public Forum to explore tidal energy issues in Wash. September 9, 2009

Filed under: Utility Companies,Washington,Wave/Tidal Power — nwrenewablenews @ 5:38 pm
Tags: , , ,

Scientists from the Pacific Northwest National Labs at Sequim Bay will speak at the meeting of the Island County Marine Resources Committee at 4:30 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 15, in the Island County Commissioners’ hearing room, 6th and Main streets, Coupeville. The public is invited.

Speakers will be Dr. Andrea Copping and Simon Geerlofs.

Snohomish Public Utility District is preparing to test several tidal energy generators within the next two years in deep waters about half- mile offshore from Fort Casey.

Tidal and wave energy are known to be far more predictable than wind or solar power, officials agree. They might one day provide an important part of the Northwest’s portfolio of clean, renewable energy, bringing green jobs and economic development to Washington. But questions remain about the potential effects on marine mammals, salmon and fragile ecosystems.

The Pacific Northwest National Lab is engaged in research to avoid and mitigate environmental effects in Puget Sound and the outer coast. It is part of the U.S. Department of Energy’s national laboratory system. The Marine Sciences Laboratory at Sequim Bay is the DOE’s only marine laboratory.

Whidbey Examiner http://www.whidbeyexaminer.com/main.asp?SectionID=1&SubSectionID=1&ArticleID=2948

 

One Response to “Public Forum to explore tidal energy issues in Wash.”

  1. Hey people, I am bran-new to the website, but I’ve been searching for this site for a long time ‘n I’m so glad I finally found it.

    I am 23 years old and doing my masters at Pennsylvania.

    I am the sort of hombre who loves to seek unprecedented things. Presently I am fabricating my hold solar panels. I am doing it all by myself without the assistance of my staff. I am using the net as the only path to acheive this. I encountered a truly brilliant site that explains how to create photovoltaic panels and so on. The place explains all the steps required to solar panel construction.

    I’m not exactly sure about how accurate the info given there is. If some people over here who have experience with these work can have a peak and give your feedback in the page it would be great and I’d highly value it.

    Thanks for reading this. U guys are the best.


Leave a Reply

