Northwest Renewable News

Your Daily Source for Renewable Energy News in Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana & Northern California

Power project collaborators pick Montana November 9, 2009

Filed under: Montana,Renewable Energy Projects,Wind — nwrenewablenews @ 2:19 pm
Tags: , , ,

A Canadian transmission company and an Irish wind developer said Friday they are teaming up to pursue a central Montana power project that could result in at least $1 billion worth of new wind energy in the Great Falls area.

If the project succeeds, it would give Montana’s burgeoning wind energy industry room to grow – an expansion that to date has been limited by a lack of lines to move power out of the state.

Toronto-based Tonbridge Power Inc. already is building a $215 million transmission line that will carry wind power along a 200-mile route between Lethbridge, Alberta, and Great Falls. The company now is considering a 100-mile link between that line and another in southern Montana that connects to electricity markets in the Pacific Northwest.

The new project would be known as the Green Line. Tonbridge CEO Johan van’t Hof said Friday it would likely carry only wind power.

Tonbridge would allocate at least 500 megawatts of capacity to the North American subsidiary of Dublin wind developer Gaelectric.

Gaelectric Vice President Van Jamison said that equates to about $1 billion worth of wind energy projects. The company has about 100,000 to 150,000 acres under long-term lease in the Great Falls area for future wind farms, he said.

Matthew Brown, Associated Presshttp://www.spokesman.com/stories/2009/nov/07/power-project-collaborators-pick-montana/

 

11 Responses to “Power project collaborators pick Montana”

  1. Cornell Says:

    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up and
    let you know a few of the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.

  2. Helpful information. Lucky me I discovered your website by chance, and I’m stunned why this accident did not took place in advance! I bookmarked it.

  3. Islandia Says:

    Hi, I do think this is an excellent website. I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going
    to revisit yet again since I saved as a favorite it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you
    be rich and continue to guide others.

  4. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up!
    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back in the future. Cheers

  5. Hello are using WordPress for your site platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up
    my own. Do you require any coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  6. Good day! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and
    tell you I truly enjoy reading your blog posts. Can you recommend
    any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same topics?
    Appreciate it!

  7. I was excited to uncover this website. I need to to thank you for your time for
    this fantastic read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit
    of it and i also have you book marked to look at new things in your site.

  8. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run
    into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My site has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my authorization. Do you know any methods to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  9. We absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for.

    Would you offer guest writers to write content in your case?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome web site!

  10. Does your site have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like
    to send you an email. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

  11. May I simply say what a comfort to find somebody that actually knows what they are talking about
    on the net. You actually know how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    A lot more people need to look at this and understand this side of the story.
    It’s surprising you aren’t more popular given that you certainly
    have the gift.


Leave a Reply

